Congratulations to Our Two National Academy of Sciences Recipients

May 06, 2019

Dear Rutgers Community Members:

We are delighted to announce that Gabriel Kotliar, Board of Governors Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Rutgers University–New Brunswick, and Masayori Inouye, a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors that a scientist can attain.

Professor Kotliar is renowned for his contributions to the theory of strongly correlated and disordered electron systems, while Professor Inouye is a pioneer in the field of molecular biology and biochemistry.

They join a long list of Rutgers faculty who are members of the National Academies—the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the National Academy of Medicine (previously called the Institute of Medicine)—which bring together the nation’s top experts to advise the federal government on critical issues. Their selection speaks to the achievements of Rutgers faculty members who are bettering their fields, our students, and society through their research and teaching.

Congratulations to Professors Kotliar and Inouye!



Christopher J. Molloy, PhD
Chancellor, Rutgers University–New Brunswick

Brian L. Strom, MD, MPH
Chancellor, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences
Executive Vice President for Health Affairs, Rutgers University